Facebook’s Second Quarter

By Faceboook, Special for USDR

“We had a good second quarter and first half of the year,” said Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook founder and CEO. “Our community is now two billion people and we’re focusing on bringing the world closer together.”

Second Quarter 2017 FinancialHighlights

Three Months Ended
June 30,

Year-over-
Year %
Change

In millions, except percentages and per share amounts

2017

2016

Revenue:

   Advertising

$

9,164

$

6,239

47

%

   Payments and other fees

157

197

(20)

%

Total revenue

9,321

6,436

45

%

Total costs and expenses(1)

4,920

3,702

33

%

Income from operations(1)

$

4,401

$

2,734

61

%

Operating margin(1)

47

%

42

%

Provision for income taxes

$

594

Effective tax rate

13

%

Net income(1)

$

3,894

$

2,283

71

%

Diluted Earnings per Share (EPS)(1)

$

1.32

$

0.78

69

%

(1)

In the fourth quarter of 2016, we elected to early adopt Accounting Standards Update No. 2016-09, Compensation – Stock Compensation (Topic 718): Improvement to Employee Share-based Payment Accounting (ASU 2016-09). We were required to reflect any adoption adjustments as of January 1, 2016, the beginning of the annual period that included the interim period of adoption. As such, certain financial highlights data for the three months ended June 30, 2016 had been adjusted to reflect the impact of ASU 2016-09 adoption. See Note 1 — Summary of Significant Accounting Policies (Note 1) in the notes to our consolidated financial statements in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 for detailed adoption information.

Second Quarter 2017 Operational and Other FinancialHighlights

  • Daily active users (DAUs) – DAUs were 1.32 billion on average for June 2017, an increase of 17% year-over-year.
  • Monthly active users (MAUs) – MAUs were 2.01 billion as of June 30, 2017, an increase of 17% year-over-year.
  • Mobile advertising revenue – Mobile advertising revenue represented approximately 87% of advertising revenue for the second quarter of 2017, up from approximately 84% of advertising revenue in the second quarter of 2016.
  • Capital expenditures – Capital expenditures for the second quarter of 2017 were $1.44 billion.
  • Cash and cash equivalents and marketable securities – Cash and cash equivalents and marketable securities were $35.45 billion at the end of the second quarter of 2017.
  • Headcount – Headcount was 20,658 as of June 30, 2017, an increase of 43% year-over-year.

Webcast and Conference CallInformation

Facebook will host a conference call to discuss the results at 2 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. ET today. The live webcast of Facebook’s earnings conference call can be accessed at investor.fb.com, along with the earnings press release, financial tables, and slide presentation. Facebook uses the investor.fb.com and newsroom.fb.com websites as well as Mark Zuckerberg’sFacebook Page (https://www.facebook.com/zuck) as means of disclosing material non-public information and for complying with its disclosure obligations under Regulation FD.

Following the call, a replay will be available at the same website. A telephonic replay will be available for one week following the conference call at +1 (404) 537-3406 or +1 (855) 859-2056, conference ID 40144952.

AboutFacebook

Founded in 2004, Facebook’s mission is to give people the power to build community and bring the world closer together. People use Facebook to stay connected with friends and family, to discover what’s going on in the world, and to share and express what matters to them.

Forward Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements regarding our future business expectations, which are subject to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements are only predictions and may differ materially from actual results due to a variety of factors including: our ability to retain or increase users and engagement levels; our reliance on advertising revenue; our dependency on mobile operating systems, networks, and standards that we do not control; risks associated with new product development and their introduction as well as other new business initiatives; our emphasis on user growth and engagement and the user experience over short-term financial results; competition; litigation; privacy and regulatory concerns; risks associated with acquisitions; security breaches; and our ability to manage growth and geographically-dispersed operations. These and other potential risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ from the results predicted are more fully detailed under the caption “Risk Factors” in our Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q filed with the SEC on May 4, 2017, which is available on our Investor Relations website at investor.fb.com and on the SEC website at www.sec.gov. Additional information will also be set forth in our Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2017. In addition, please note that the date of this press release is July 26, 2017, and any forward-looking statements contained herein are based on assumptions that we believe to be reasonable as of this date. We undertake no obligation to update these statements as a result of new information or future events.

Non-GAAP FinancialMeasures

To supplement our condensed consolidated financial statements, which are prepared and presented in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles in the United States (GAAP), we use the following non-GAAP financial measures: revenue excluding foreign exchange effect, advertising revenue excluding foreign exchange effect and free cash flow. The presentation of these financial measures is not intended to be considered in isolation or as a substitute for, or superior to, financial information prepared and presented in accordance with GAAP. Investors are cautioned that there are material limitations associated with the use of non-GAAP financial measures as an analytical tool. In addition, these measures may be different from non-GAAP financial measures used by other companies, limiting their usefulness for comparison purposes. We compensate for these limitations by providing specific information regarding the GAAP amounts excluded from these non-GAAP financial measures.

We believe these non-GAAP financial measures provide investors with useful supplemental information about the financial performance of our business, enable comparison of financial results between periods where certain items may vary independent of business performance, and allow for greater transparency with respect to key metrics used by management in operating our business.

We exclude the following items from our non-GAAP financial measures:

Foreign exchange effect on revenue. We translated revenue for the three and six months ended June 30, 2017 using the prior year’s monthly exchange rates for our settlement currencies other than the U.S. dollar, which we believe is a useful metric that facilitates comparison to our historical performance.

Purchases of property and equipment. We subtract purchases of property and equipment in our calculation of free cash flow because we believe that this methodology can provide useful supplemental information to help investors better understand underlying trends in our business.

For more information on our non-GAAP financial measures and a reconciliation of GAAP to non-GAAP measures, please see the “Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Results” table in this press release.

FACEBOOK, INC.

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME

(In millions, except for per share amounts)

(Unaudited)

Three Months Ended
June 30,

Six Months Ended
June 30,

2017

2016(1)

2017

2016(1)

Revenue

$

9,321

$

6,436

$

17,353

$

11,818

Costs and expenses:

Cost of revenue

1,237

917

2,395

1,755

Research and development

1,919

1,471

3,753

2,814

Marketing and sales

1,124

901

2,181

1,728

General and administrative

640

413

1,295

778

  Total costs and expenses

4,920

3,702

9,624

7,075

Income from operations

4,401

2,734

7,729

4,743

Interest and other income, net

87

20

168

78

Income before provision for income taxes

4,488

2,754

7,897

4,821

Provision for income taxes

594

471

938

800

Net income

$

3,894

$

2,283

$

6,959

$

4,021

Less: Net income attributable to participating securities

4

7

10

13

Net income attributable to Class A and Class B common stockholders

$

3,890

$

2,276

$

6,949

$

4,008

Earnings per share attributable to Class A and Class B common stockholders:

Basic

$

1.34

$

0.80

$

2.40

$

1.41

Diluted

$

1.32

$

0.78

$

2.36

$

1.38

Weighted average shares used to compute earnings per share attributable to Class A and Class B common stockholders:

Basic

2,900

2,856

2,895

2,850

Diluted

2,951

2,921

2,950

2,912

Share-based compensation expense included in costs and expenses:

Cost of revenue

$

47

$

29

$

81

$

51

Research and development

787

631

1,457

1,217

Marketing and sales

120

95

216

177

General and administrative

78

62

145

118

  Total share-based compensation expense

$

1,032

$

817

$

1,899

$

1,563

(1)

We elected to early adopt ASU 2016-09 in the fourth quarter of 2016. Our condensed consolidated statements of income for the three and six months ended June 30, 2016 had been adjusted to reflect the impact of ASU 2016-09 adoption. See Note 1 in the notes to our consolidated financial statements in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 for detailed adoption information.

FACEBOOK, INC.

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

(In millions)

(Unaudited)

June 30, 2017

December 31, 2016

Assets

Current assets:

Cash and cash equivalents

$

6,252

$

8,903

Marketable securities

29,200

20,546

Accounts receivable, net of allowances for doubtful accounts of $90 and $94 as of June 30, 2017 and December 31, 2016, respectively

3,897

3,993

Prepaid expenses and other current assets

1,455

959

    Total current assets

40,804

34,401

Property and equipment, net

10,628

8,591

Intangible assets, net

2,186

2,535

Goodwill

18,129

18,122

Other assets

2,096

1,312

Total assets

$

73,843

$

64,961

Liabilities and stockholders’ equity

Current liabilities:

Accounts payable

$

323

$

302

Partners payable

278

280

Accrued expenses and other current liabilities

2,626

2,203

Deferred revenue and deposits

88

90

    Total current liabilities

3,315

2,875

Other liabilities

4,047

2,892

    Total liabilities

7,362

5,767

Stockholders’ equity:

Common stock and additional paid-in capital

39,291

38,227

Accumulated other comprehensive loss

(370)

(703)

Retained earnings

27,560

21,670

    Total stockholders’ equity

66,481

59,194

Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity

$

73,843

$

64,961

FACEBOOK, INC.

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(In millions)

(Unaudited)

Three Months Ended
June 30,

Six Months Ended
June 30,

2017

2016(1)

2017

2016(1)

Cash flows from operating activities

Net income

$

3,894

$

2,283

$

6,959

$

4,021

Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:

Depreciation and amortization

728

585

1,400

1,137

Share-based compensation

1,032

817

1,899

1,563

Deferred income taxes

26

(101)

(58)

(178)

Other

8

6

12

19

Changes in assets and liabilities:

Accounts receivable

(386)

(492)

223

(225)

Prepaid expenses and other current assets

(212)

(150)

(577)

(257)

Other assets

51

(11)

82

4

Accounts payable

(28)

(41)

(38)

(39)

Partners payable

(7)

17

(10)

14

Accrued expenses and other current liabilities

96

432

157

414

Deferred revenue and deposits

6

25

(4)

23

Other liabilities

152

295

373

646

Net cash provided by operating activities

5,360

3,665

10,418

7,142

Cash flows from investing activities

 Purchases of property and equipment

(1,444)

(995)

(2,715)

(2,127)

 Purchases of marketable securities

(7,145)

(6,509)

(14,137)

(9,635)

 Sales of marketable securities

2,236

2,145

3,998

4,158

 Maturities of marketable securities

899

366

1,498

903

 Acquisitions of businesses, net of cash acquired, and purchases of intangible assets

(8)

(19)

(8)

(20)

 Change in restricted cash and deposits

22

41

33

74

 Net cash used in investing activities

(5,440)

(4,971)

(11,331)

(6,647)

Cash flows from financing activities

Taxes paid related to net share settlement of equity awards

(724)

(1,495)

Principal payments on capital lease and other financing obligations

(312)

Repurchases of Class A common stock

(150)

(378)

Other financing activities, net

5

4

12

6

Net cash (used in) provided by financing activities

(869)

4

(1,861)

(306)

Effect of exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents

97

(46)

123

12

Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents

(852)

(1,348)

(2,651)

201

Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period

7,104

6,456

8,903

4,907

Cash and cash equivalents at end of period

$

6,252

$

5,108

$

6,252

$

5,108

FACEBOOK, INC.

CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(In millions)

(Unaudited)

Three Months Ended
June 30,

Six Months Ended
June 30,

2017

2016(1)

2017

2016(1)

Supplemental cash flow data

Cash paid during the period for:

Interest

$

$

$

$

11

Income taxes, net

$

695

$

237

$

1,359

$

407

Non-cash investing and financing activities:

Net change in accounts payable, accrued expenses and other current liabilities, and other liabilities related to property and equipment additions

$

183

$

37

$

157

$

89

Change in unsettled repurchases of Class A common stock

$

30

$

$

30

$

(1)

We elected to early adopt ASU 2016-09 in the fourth quarter of 2016. Our condensed consolidated statements of cash flows for the three and six months ended June 30, 2016 had been adjusted to reflect the impact of ASU 2016-09 adoption. See Note 1 in the notes to our consolidated financial statements in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 for detailed adoption information.

Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Results

(In millions, except percentages)

(Unaudited)

Three Months Ended
June 30,

Six Months Ended
June 30,

2017

2016

2017

2016

GAAP revenue

$

9,321

$

6,436

$

17,353

$

11,818

   Foreign exchange effect on 2017 revenue using 2016 rates

141

164

Revenue excluding foreign exchange effect

$

9,462

$

17,517

GAAP revenue year-over-year change %

45

%

47

%

Revenue excluding foreign exchange effect year-over-year change %

47

%

48

%

GAAP advertising revenue

$

9,164

$

6,239

$

17,021

$

11,440

   Foreign exchange effect on 2017 advertising revenue using 2016 rates

141

163

Advertising revenue excluding foreign exchange effect

$

9,305

$

17,184

GAAP advertising revenue year-over-year change %

47

%

49

%

Advertising revenue excluding foreign exchange effect year-over-year change %

49

%

50

%

Net cash provided by operating activities(1)

$

5,360

$

3,665

$

10,418

$

7,142

   Purchases of property and equipment

(1,444)

(995)

(2,715)

(2,127)

Free cash flow(1)

$

3,916

$

2,670

$

7,703

$

5,015

(1)

We elected to early adopt ASU 2016-09 in the fourth quarter of 2016. Net cash provided by operating activities and free cash flow for the three and six months ended June 30, 2016 had been adjusted to reflect the impact of ASU 2016-09 adoption. See Note 1 in the notes to our consolidated financial statements in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 for detailed adoption information.

SOURCE Facebook

All opinions expressed on USDR are those of the author and not necessarily those of US Daily Review.
Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkdin
Share On Pinterest
Share On Reddit
Share On Stumbleupon
Contact us
Hide Buttons
Rimons twitter widget by Rimon Habib