0


Week of May 28 – June 3

author: sparkhurst 11:31 pm EST June 1, 2013
Looking at the news and opinion out of London each day. 6-3-13

The NHS is being held together by “sticking plasters” that “will only last so long”, the head of the NHS Confederation has warned.

And a survey of health leaders reveals that one in five believes the financial pressures on the health service are worse than they have ever been.
6-2-13

UKIP up on 21% in Observer/Opinium poll

An Opinium poll in The Observer tomorrow has Labour on 37%, the Conservatives on 26%, UKIP on 21%, a record high, and the Lib Dems on 6% a record low.

20 Labour MPs turn on Ed Miliband over refusal to hold EU referendum

New campaign group, Labour for a Referendum, puts pressure on Labour leader to offer an in-out vote on Europe

The politics of food

A new report claims that more than half a million Britons are now reliant on food banks

Why Ukip is a party of extremists

Last Saturday I wrote for my newspaper a column whose drift was that it was time for the sane majority of the Conservative party to repel those elements on the Tory right who plainly wish the Prime Minister and the coalition ill, and who would never be satisfied with his stance on Europe, however much he tried to adjust it to please them.

A perfect example of Britain’s EU problems

The decision to trigger legal action against the UK for restricting access to benefits for some foreign nationals has alienated politicians across the spectrum 6-1-13

The EU declares bureaucratic war on the UK

It was always agreed in the EU that welfare systems should be under national control.Even Labour, when giving away 138 vetoes over important policy areas, kept a red line around welfare. Decisions about how much to pay, and to whom, were to be made by national Parliaments and governments. The UK signed up to the free movement of workers, not to the free movement of benefit seekers.

Ed Miliband is a blancmange in a hurricane

Labour’s leader is weak, indecisive, lacks clarity, and has turned his party into a vacuum

Ukip is trying to become a grown-up party. Just look at Farage’s response to Woolwich

Ukip has been unusually quiet in its response to the Woolwich killing last week. The only thing we’ve heard is a tactful statement on the day from Nigel Farage, slamming the incident and calling for calm. Not a peep more, and certainly no outlandish statements about tackling the ‘cancer’ of Islam. The muted response is a clear sign Ukip is working hard at its message discipline.

Hague calls for national parliaments to veto EU Commission plans

Daily Mail was the first paper to have yesterday's story about the European Commission taking Britain to court over access to benefits for EU immigrants, and it is also the first to have today's about William Hague's plan to give national parliaments to reject Commission proposals if enough of them agree to.

How to tackle the EDL

Those wondering how to respond to English Defence League marches this weekend can look to the example of tea and non-confrontation we set at York mosque

5-31-13

Tim Yeo: humans may not be to blame for global warming

Humans may not be responsible for global warming, according to Tim Yeo, the MP who oversees government policy on climate change.

After Woolwich, what will change?

Theresa May knows what it is necessary to do to fight Islamism – but her hands are tied

The EU Commission is the gift that keeps on giving

Iain Duncan Smith has received a special delivery: a big present, gift-wrapped in blue paper and yellow ribbon, sent direct from the EU Commission. 5-30-13

Nick Clegg cares more about his party than the country

The Deputy Prime Minister's strategy is all about protecting the Lib Dems' poll ratings and his own job, says Jacob Rees-Mogg.

Boris Johnson is ‘absolutely increasingly confident’ of Cameron 2015 win. How reassuring.

Boris Johnson is ‘absolutely increasingly confident’ that David Cameron will win in 2015. This was the Mayor’s attempt at responding to Andy Coulson’s suggestion that he’s desperate for the PM to fail so he can cycle in and save the party, a blond messiah. 5-29-13 

George Osborne plans to harness £11.5bn savings via new star chamber

Chancellor upbeat on target for 2015-16 spending review but ministers may face grilling in revived cabinet committee

We need cuts, not slices

This is the Government’s last real chance before 2015 to reshape the nature of the public sector

Labour has a plan to save the NHS, but does it have the nerve?

A health service built for an age of quick cures and brief lives needs drastic surgery

So Theresa May and Sayeeda Warsi want to ban the preachers of hate? On the contrary, bring 'em on

The asbestos of publicity doesn't fan the flames of a vicious dogma into a raging inferno, it first retards them, and then inflicts a fatal malignancy

5-28-13

Iain Duncan Smith is right about spending

Iain Duncan Smith says the Government should spend more on defence and the police. This is the right approach

You can’t blame big firms for avoiding tax

Britain’s tax system is a complicated and unfair mess – a simpler, fairer system would benefit all

The Tories are playing raucous politics with spending cuts – again

With his spending review drip-feed George Osborne wants us to think the government is back in business. Don't believe any of it

What we can learn from Woolwich

Philip Johnston weighs up the official reaction to the death of Drummer Lee Rigby and the threats posed to a free society

Across The Pond is edited daily by Steve Parkhurst. Steve is a political consultant, a writer at his blog as well as a Senior Editor here at US Daily Review. Follow Steve on Twitter @SteveParkhurst



The opinions expressed in the columns written by US Daily Review's writers only reflect the opinion
of the individual writer. If you disagree with something, we invite you to engage our writers and carry
on a thoughtful dialogue.

Leave a Reply

*

Commnet

EcoPlus is powered by PlusCaptcha.



Get educated about retirement
You'll thank yourself later.

Open and fund an IRA today
+get upto $600. >
replay
More Stories Updated  

Apr 23, 2014 . 0  Comment

By USDR     The National Retail Federation today called Senate legislation aimed at increasing the federal minimum wage by 40 percent an anti-job tax that would lead to

Read More...

Apr 23, 2014 . 0  Comment

By USDR Last week, MRCTV’s Dan Joseph decided to ask tourists in Washington D.C. if they ever heard of the Koch Brothers.  They’re the billionaire brothers that have

Read More...

Apr 23, 2014 . 0  Comment

By Heritage, Special for USDR.         Since the passage of Obamacare in 2010, many of the President’s famous promises have been routinely

Read More...

Apr 23, 2014 . 0  Comment

By USDR     Taxpayers earning $100,000 or more a year pay 71.6% of the nation’s share in individual federal income taxes, according to the latest data from the

Read More...