Talkspace Reviews Discuss Modern Methods of Dealing With Grief In 2020

Psychologists have outlined the five stages of dealing with grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Walking through each stage of grief can be challenging, especially when you are unaware of what you are experiencing and why you are experiencing it.  But as Talkspace reviews show, having help on this journey, with a real licensed therapist, can be invaluable.

You most likely understand the event that triggered the emotional state of grief: a loss of a loved one, a traumatic event, or even just a career change. Grief does not only have to come following death; rather, it is the common response to losing something. Getting help during this time can be critical in overcoming the loss and moving beyond it to a healthy state of mind.

Get Educated

The five stages of grief were first outlined by Swiss-American psychologist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her book On Death and Dying (1969):

  • Denial: This is when an individual refuses to accept the truth. Denial is actually a healthy defense mechanism, but it can be damaging if not worked through over time.
  • Anger: Anger is often more of a secondary emotion that comes about as a response to sadness. It is often directed toward different people, such as family and friends, and again, if not dealt with properly, can have a long-term negative impact on close individuals in one’s life.
  • Bargaining: This stage includes continuous questioning: Why not me? Why them? How could I have changed things? This is a stage in which having support can be extremely important, as guilt is a primary emotion that often accompanies this stage. Essentially, someone in this stage is trying to negotiate their pain away.
  • Depression: This is the recognition that someone is really gone. Feeling depressed can indicate that an individual is now living in the moment, working through the emotions related to finding acceptance.
  • Acceptance: Not everyone reaches this step, but it is the final stage of grief. It is simply when someone accepts the change that has occurred and is willing to move forward with their life.

According to Talkspace contributor Wendy Wisner, “the stages are not necessarily in a linear fashion. You may not experience the stages in the exact order listed, or in distinct forms. You might even experience stages that haven’t been identified.” Therefore, you should consider getting help to walk you through the process.

Where to Look for Help

No matter the stage of the grieving process you are in, it is never too late to get help. There are a multitude of platforms for individuals to seek care: support groups, in-person therapy, self-help books, and online therapy.

The latter, online therapy as described by Talkspace reviews, is a newer option that is best suited for those who are seeking convenient therapy. The platform provides benefits that the other options may be lacking.

Increased Communication

Talkspace reviews also show that online therapy provides an opportunity for clients to text and leave audio messages for their therapists. Since grief is not always a 24-hour feeling, the service lets clients send messages to their therapists when they are struggling the most. Maybe breakfast, a time when the individual usually sat and ate with their loved one, is the most challenging time of the day. By using an online therapist, a client can send a message to the therapist in the morning. The therapist can then help the client work through the emotions, allowing the client to check in when necessary rather than at scheduled times.

Save Time and Money

Most of the reviews for Talkspace also show that online therapy can save time and money. The emotions related to losing a loved one or experiencing a major change in life do not subside quickly. Recovery and healing is usually a long process. Therefore, making the long-term commitment to seeing an in-person therapist weekly can be exhausting and expensive, and support groups and self-help books may not be enough for you. Working with an online therapist, however, can provide the opportunity for a client to continue to work through their grief for an extended period of time without major commitments. The process is just like texting or calling a friend.

Get Started

Getting started with an online therapist is easy. Platforms such as Talkspace provide a simple program that allows clients to get started quickly in four steps:

  1. Sign up.
  2. Choose a plan that works best for your needs.
  3. Find a therapist (with the help of the company) that is your best match.
  4. Begin therapy.

Talkspace wants to make therapy accessible for everyone, and it really couldn’t be simpler. But if you need another Talkspace review to convince you, be sure to visit their Crunchbase page for a whole collection of articles about the company, and their offerings.

Review Date
Reviewed Item
Author Rating
All opinions expressed on USDR are those of the author and not necessarily those of US Daily Review.