Week of Oct 16 – 22

Across the Pond by Steve Parkhurst

By Steve Parkhurst, Senior Editor,  USDR.

Looking at the news and opinion out of London each  day.

10-16-18

Theresa May has moved heaven and earth to reach a Brexit deal, but there’s no shame in trying again

When the Cabinet assembles on Tuesday morning, it now seems very unlikely that they can collectively accept any proposed EU withdrawal agreement on the table, and indeed that they would in any case be unwise to do so. Such a situation may well be a cause of intense frustration for the Prime Minister, who has made a heroic effort to bring her party, Parliament and the Brussels leadership to the brink of a workable deal, but if reports of the latest drafts are to be believed, it is not sellable in  Britain.

Crisis, what crisis? Theresa May keeps calm and carries on

With the government on the brink of a full blown crisis, there was speculation that Theresa May would use today’s Brexit statement to the House to turn her ire on Brussels. In the end it wasn’t to be and the Prime Minister adopted a conciliatory tone – praising both sides – as she did her best to insist that it was business as  normal.

How costly would a no deal Brexit really be?

A no deal Brexit is certainly undesirable. But would it be as calamitous as some  claim?

10-17-18

Gainful employment should be the ultimate measure of university success

Great effort goes to attract the best school-leavers. If only the same energy went into ensuring that their graduate alumni are actually prepared for the world of  work.

Here are ten reasons – besides the EU’s bullying behaviour – that prove Brexit is right

Every day brings a new example of the EU’s failure to negotiate Brexit in good faith. bRefusing to agree how financial services should be conducted, despite the UK’s offer to allow EU firms based in the UK to continue trading as  before.

Jobs, wages – and stubbornly buoyant Conservative poll ratings

Wages are growing at their fastest rate for ten years, and employment is at a near-record high. But qualifications are  necessary…

10-18-18

If May gets a good enough deal on Brexit, remainer MPs might just have to back it

While the focus has been on how Tory backbenchers will vote on a Brexit deal, pro-Europeans on the opposition benches will face a crucial dilemma  too

Theresa May open to extending Brexit transition period by a year as she asks EU for ‘creative’ ideas

Theresa May has told EU leaders she is prepared to consider extending the Brexit transition period as she called on them to show “courage” and come up with “creative” ideas to break the current  deadlock.

Yesterday’s results show that free schools are working. Now Conservatives must back them fully once again.

I was glad to see the Prime Minister and the Education Secretary doing so recently – particularly now that Rayner is clear she will scrap the  programme.

Michael Moore couldn’t be more wrong about Brexit

How unfortunate that the person who once wrote a book called Stupid White Men now sounds an awful lot like a stupid white man. Yes, it’s Michael Moore, the dishevelled American filmmaker, who wasn’t in Britain for five minutes before he was making the most basic of factual errors. ‘You can’t leave Europe!’, he told the British people via an interview with Channel 4 News. Someone buy this bozo a dictionary. We aren’t leaving Europe, Michael — we’re leaving the  EU.

No more delays – just get on with it

As the EU does not want to do a deal on our future relationship anytime soon the UK must leave in March 2019 without signing the one sided and damaging Withdrawal Agreement they propose. We can then proceed to negotiate a free trade agreement with them if they want  to.

10-19-18

Theresa May isolated as party turns on ‘chaotic’ Brexit plan and EU leaders give her the cold shoulder

Theresa May was on Thursday evening increasingly isolated over her plan to keep Britain tied to the EU for longer as she was savaged by both wings of her party and left in the cold by EU  leaders.

Merkel will rescue the Prime Minister. Where have we heard that before?

The German Chancellor was stronger then than she is now. And there’s no guarantee that any compromise she might push would  work.

Fears of a revolt by disappointed Leave voters could kill Theresa May’s ‘Brextension’ plans

Finding a clear path through the Brexit thicket has not got any  easier

Let’s be frank. The entire commentariat class hasn’t a clue what will happen next.

Plus: May under fire at home and pressure abroad. And around tables at the heart of Westminster, Labour researchers huddle, as though ready for an election and  power.

10-20-18

Divide and rule: how the EU used Ireland to take control of Brexit

Thanks to her own incompetence, Theresa May now faces an impossible  choice

Why we will get an economic boost from leaving the EU on 29 March 2019

Many commentators wrongly assume the EU will impose some kind of economic blockade on the UK once we leave the EU. They are not making any legal provision so to do, and it is difficult to see how they would do it. They cannot break the many outstanding contracts to supply or to  import.

10-21-18

Write your letters of no confidence now, MPs. There is an alternative to the hopeless Theresa May

This is Theresa May’s Oliver Cromwell moment. Not because, with a ferocity of zeal and commitment, she is about to take us out of the European Union, and invite it to do its worst; but because her party must say to her, as the Lord Protector did to the Rump Parliament: “You have sat too long here for any good you have been doing. In the name of God,  go.”

People’s Vote march placards: the good, the bad and the ugly

It’s the day of the People’s Vote march and over half a million protesters are estimated to have descended on the capital to call for a second  referendum.

Mrs May’s 2017 Election Conservative Manifesto said only sign a Withdrawal Agreement if there is a good Future Partnership Agreement as well

The Conservative Manifesto for the 2017 election made pledges on the matter of the EU, and has never officially been renounced or amended by the Leader. I and many others stood for election on it and supported the Brexit pledges in it. I did not support the elderly care proposals in the same Manifesto as I made clear before the election. The PM subsequently dumped  these.

10-22-18

Theresa May faces Cabinet revolt after extraordinary last-minute call with ministers to shore up support

Theresa May faced a Cabinet revolt on Sunday night after attempting to shore up support for her Brexit plans during an hour-and-a-half long conference call with her  ministers.

– – – – – –

Across The Pond is edited daily by Steve Parkhurst. Steve is a political consultant, a writer at his blog as well as a Senior Editor here at US Daily Review. Follow Steve on Twitter  @SteveParkhurst

All opinions expressed on USDR are those of the author and not necessarily those of US Daily Review.