Week of July 28 – Aug 3

By Steve Parkhurst, Senior Editor, USDR.

Looking at the news and opinion out of London each day.

8-3-15

Letters: It will take radical action across Europe to stem the tide of migration

Europe’s response to the migrant crisis; SNP’s way with words; costly cancer drugs; the man who rescued the Proms; and why British lamb is a winner

Inside George Osborne’s empire: how the Chancellor rules Westminster

His friends prosper; his enemies wither. But how long can it last?

Party members’ poll: Goldsmith holds on to majority in the mayoral race, while Kamall’s support climbs to a third

This is the first survey since the candidates for the mayoralty were whittled down to four.

Win or lose, Corbyn will set the agenda unless Labour speaks up

Labourites have waffled on about their colleague’s fine principles without saying they would damage the country

The unfinished business of Lords reform

In July 2012 Mr Clegg tried to go  ahead with a wide ranging proposed reform of the Lords without sufficient support in either the Commons or the Lords. His proposal for a mixed House of elected and unelected peers did not proceed.

8-2-15

The real ‘deniers’ in the climate change debate are the warmists

Those who believe that the world faces a catastrophe from global warming dismiss anyone who dares question their beliefs

The Only Way is Ethics: When the media report the chaos at Calais, they must remain compassionate

Two words for journalists and politicians to avoid: ‘swarm’, and ‘cockroaches’

Migrants think our streets are paved with gold

Those fleeing Africa for financial gain in Europe have unrealistic ideas about what we can offer

The party must not settle for angry opposition. We must focus on victory and choose a leader who can win

Might the Labour right abandon ‘New Old Labour’?

The Chancellor’s move onto their territory in the Budget means the gap is, at least intellectually, far from unbridgeable for marooned Blairites.

8-1-15

Britain needs immigrants, but not a ‘swarm’ of them

A modern country must both welcome and impede immigration – so how will Mr Cameron deal with our current migrant paradox?

Jeremy Corbyn: the first 100 days

What would happen if the irascible Left-wing Labour leadership candidate actually became Prime Minister? Here’s one vision…

Was the Coalition a good or a bad thing?

I was once told by someone in politics – I forget who – that governments pass through three basic phases. The first is when they are new, and they can blame everything that goes wrong on the last lot in power. The second is after a couple of years, when they have to take the blame themselves. The third is when the next general election approaches, and they have to tell voters why they’re the best pick for the future.

Why George Galloway won’t be rejoining Labour anytime soon

George Galloway has announced that he would like to return to the Labour party if Jeremy Corbyn is elected leader. The former Respect MP for Bradford West sees Corbyn as a comrade in arms and would feel at home alongside him.

Cecil the lion’s killing tells us a lot about the wrongs of animal rights activists

We claim to love animals like Cecil the lion, while ignoring the plights of thousands of other species – not least our own

7-31-15

George Osborne must take on Tim Nice-But-Dim

The Conservatives must become the champions of social mobility

So what happens if Jeremy Corbyn actually wins?

Thought Ed Miliband’s victory over his brother in the last Labour leadership contest was a surprise? You haven’t seen anything yet

Not since the days of Dickens has middle-class prosperity so relied on family bequests

Osborne’s reforms to Inheritance Tax have lawyers rubbing their hands with glee

Iain Dale: Sir Alistair Graham, purveyor of holier-than-thou puritanism, is just a gob on a stick

Plus: Farewell, Ivan Massow. How Eric Pickles cost me £50,000. David Laws’ new book. And: the rise of Jeremy Corbyn is my fault.

7-30-15

John McTernan: if Corbyn wins the Labour leadership, he should be deposed immediately

John McTernan is a Blairite who is not afraid to speak his mind. On this week’s View from 22 podcast, the former Labour special advisor discusses the state of Labour’s leadership contest with Isabel and me. He believes the right of the party is struggling as it failed to put forward a suitably experienced candidate ‘because David Miliband left the Commons in the last Parliament’

Why are the Labour leadership contenders so weak?

In 2015 the Labour Party has been defeated in a second successive election, once more by a significant margin – and the contenders for leader don’t offer much hope.

The latest NHS cuts aren’t about health. They’re about blame

Tough choices don’t just have to be made by doctors – they have to be made by patients, too

7-29-15

Cameron’s revolutionary secret: the most professional Cabinet in British history

The Prime Minister’s success springs from a preference, new to Westminster, for Cabinet ministers who actually know about their departments.

Jeremy Corbyn won’t destroy Labour. But he might yet destroy the country

Imagine, for a moment, the following scenario. In 2017 Britain votes narrowly to remain within the European Union, despite the Prime Minister having achieved little in attempting to renegotiate the terms of our membership. The ‘out’ campaign — which after 2016 was no longer led by a marginal party, Ukip, but by the majority of the ­parliamentary Labour party, under its new leader Jeremy Corbyn — came mightily close to securing our withdrawal, and thus, as it is put by proponents, our independence.

Cameron rules out Scottish referendum rematch

Also: Scottish Labour fear far-left infiltration; Plaid debate fate of former leader; Welsh Labour criticise ‘toxic’ leadership race; and nationalists bid to rechristen Londonderry.

Regional identity

In much of the EU the regions that wish to be independent are the richer parts of their present countries. In Spain Catalonia is the most enterprising and highest income part of Spain along with the Basque country which is also keen on having more self government and control of its own tax revenues.

7-28-15

How bad must it get before Labour elects a woman?

What’s the point in the party if it doesn’t even have the nerve to oppose the massive injustice of the welfare bill?

Rebecca Coulson: The top five reasons we love ranking things…

Why is it that we love making lists? And what does it tell us about democracy?

British economics graduates have left a trail of misery around the world

From Nehru’s India to Varoufakis’s Greece, the trendy doctrines of our universities have much to answer for

– – – – – –

Across The Pond is edited daily by Steve Parkhurst. Steve is a political consultant, a writer at his blog as well as a Senior Editor here at US Daily Review. Follow Steve on Twitter  @SteveParkhurst

All opinions expressed on USDR are those of the author and not necessarily those of US Daily Review.