Week of Oct 21 – Oct 27


Looking at the news and opinion out of London each day.

10-27-14

David Cameron has no choice but to defy Brussels

If the European Commission had come to Britain demanding another £90 million because this country’s economy had performed better than expected, it would have been a political headache for David Cameron. The money would have been handed over and Ukip would have slapped it on to its election leaflets.

Cameron, victim of Merkel’s problems…

…and architect of some of his own. What will become of the renegotiation now?

10-26-14

How Cameron could make the EU a winning issue (and why he won’t)

No, I don’t really think he’ll campaign for withdrawal. But that doesn’t make Eurosceptics’ options any less clear

Older voters – who will actually vote – want politicians who say what they mean and mean what they say

Findings among the over-50s should make essential reading for our leaders

Who is sovereign? That “Ship money” moment?

Parliament in the UK established its power  by insisting that it should approve taxation before it was imposed by the King or Queen. When the Crown needed more money he had to summons Parliament. Parliament insisted on the redress of its grievances before voting the monarch the money he wanted.

The EU is starting to annoy even its friends

If I feel a surge of disenchantment with the EU, what’s everyone else going to think?

Alas, poor Johann Lamont: a symptom, not the cause, of Labour’s decline in Scotland

It was the wee things that did it. Things like vision, inspiration, confidence and all the other details that coalesce into that strange something called leadership. There are many types of leader and leadership is another of those things easier to see than define but all successful leaders share one essential quality: they can choose a hill and persuade their followers that’s the place they must die.

10-25-14

Cameron: We’re not paying this EU bill on the 1st of December

A visibly riled David Cameron railed at the European Commission’s ‘completely unacceptable’ behaviour in demanding another £1.7 billion from Britain by the 1st of December. He warned that he certainly won’t be paying this bill then, and that anyone who thinks he will ‘have another think coming’.

Sex, drugs and Brussels law (and Cameron)

The EU’s demand for £1.7billion raises a number of essential questions. Not least, what can Cameron do now?

It’s time to shave that beard: the decade of the hipster is over

Fashion cults are nothing new, but this one was exceptionally silly and unoriginal

The Bank shifts its ground on QE

10-24-14

Daily catch-up: EU news, and other reasons to be cheerful

Your guide to British miserablism and other possible reactions to current events

A tale of two Tory primaries. Rochester, 2014: turnout, 5700. Gosport, 2010: turnout, 12500.

The figure for the Kent seat is a disappointment for CCHQ – but it’s not disastrous in itself, and will help build a stronger voter base for now and next May.

Ebola in the US: Are we letting fear win?

Ebola hysteria in America mirrors that from West Africa when the virus outbreak accelerated. Discrimination did not work then, and it will not work now.

The UK should decline to pay the extra EU tax

Who should lead the Metropolitan Party?

It has plenty of supporters among Conservative journalists. But why not among Conservative politicians?

10-23-14

The bias in Osborne’s family policy is a gift to Farage

Whether parents work in the labour market or not is none of the Chancellor’s business – as long as they aren’t claiming welfare benefits.

The UK needs a wage rise

This is a potentially  popular campaign  which need not be the monopoly of the Unions. The main aim of Conservative policy is to encourage and foster an economic recovery which will raise real wages and living standards for the many. I am all in favour of people getting on in the world, being promoted, getting pay awards for their performance and for the value of the work they bring to the company or institution.

10-22-14

The NHS is not a great election issue for Labour

Labour’s lack of ambition in going for a core vote 35% strategy is matched by the dangers of making the NHS the centrepiece of that approach. So far the more they mention the NHS the more their vote stays in the low 30s.

John Humphrys and the BBC’s disdain for market capitalism

Last week’s market tremor, provoked by renewed fears of eurozone stagnation and a slowdown in global growth, was serious enough for IMF chief Christine Lagarde to feel the need to pronounce, in her most soothing tone, that it was ‘maybe at this stage an over-reaction’.

Real public spending increases rapidly, especially on capital investment

10-21-14

Ukip has scared the Conservative Party into forgetting its own history

José Manuel Barroso’s words should remind Tories that they are the party of Margaret Thatcher and economic freedom

Why is Downing Street pressuring Tory MEPs to vote for Jean-Claude Juncker?

There’s no good reason to make rebels of MEPs who simply want to oppose the arch-federalist, as Cameron did mere months ago.

We should have seen this coming. It was surely predicted in the Old Testament

How to fix the NHS: a doctor’s prescription

Competition – and ideology – isn’t working



– – – –

Across The Pond is edited daily by Steve Parkhurst. Steve is a political consultant, a writer at his blog as well as a Senior Editor here at US Daily Review. Follow Steve on Twitter @SteveParkhurst

All opinions expressed on USDR are those of the author and not necessarily those of US Daily Review.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

*